Hunger

My daddy’s drunk again. I can hear him slamming the kitchen cupboard doors and shouting at my mummy.

He’s always hungry when he comes home from the pub, but he can never find anything to eat. It’s my mummy’s fault, he says. She lets us kids eat him out of house and home.

I don’t know what he’s talking about. There’s always loads of food in the house. There’s sausages, and chops, and tins of spaghetti Bolognese. And every Friday night we have fish and chips. Except for my daddy, he always has steak.

Whenever he’s not drunk my daddy’s happy enough to eat whatever my mummy makes for him. He comes home from work and eats his dinner, then when he’s finished he leans back in his chair and says, “That was de-licious.” He always says it like it was two words, instead of one…

‘Hunger’ was published in the Northern Ireland literary magazine ‘Verbal’ Issue 27, in October 2009.

A pdf download of the magazine is available here: Verbal Magazine Issue 27

Leave a Reply

