2 Poems

 

Two poems, ‘1,000 Hummingbirds’ & ‘All This Useless Information I Carry In My Head’ were published in Issue #1 of the Northern Irish poetry magazine ‘Speech Therapy,’ in 2006. Here are the two poems:

 

1,000 Hummingbirds

 

Afterwards, as she

turns away to sleep

I move to the doorway

to smoke & look out

into the world.

 

I watch the stars &

feel the sweat dry

on my skin.

 

Done, I flick my

butt out

into the dark. It arches

through the air &

skitters like a

firefly along the street.

 

There’s a hum in

the air, a sound like

the wings of a thousand

hummingbirds trying to

cool the night.

 

Home is a long way

away. & though the

stars in the sky are

the same, they look

brighter, somehow,

from here.

 

**********

 

All This Useless Information I Carry In My Head

 

The small scar on her shin, the

mole on the underside of

her left breast, the smallness of

the nail on her wee toes. If

she left me, what good would this

knowledge be? What could I do

with these precious details that

can matter only to me?

 

**********

Leave a Reply

