Acolada September 2015

Screen shot 2015-10-08 at 13.39.09

I have 4 tanka and 16 haiku/senryu published in translation in the latest issue (September 2015) of Romanian Literary journal ‘Acolada.’

Many thanks to Dr. Iacob Olimpia for the translation work.

Click link below for a free pdf of the issue.

ACOLADA SEPT 15

4 Tanka

 

my insomnia

stretches hours spent without you

I stay up past dawn

thinking of you far away

& curse days of summer rain

*

lying on my bed

gazing at the rain falling

on skylight window

I imagine you astride me

as I rise upwards

*

hands holding my hands

as they cup your tender breasts

exquisite movement

as you quiver above me

your body taut as a bow

*

we will meet again

but until then let us recall

the long nights of spring

when we were almost lovers

moments away from joining

***

16 Haiku / Senryu

 

burning my notebooks

in a fire in the garden

sparks fly upward

*

ease me inside you

trembling like an autumn leaf

I am lost, again

*

your soft hands trembling

on the waistband of my jeans

precious memory

*

a wheatgrass vodka

to calm my turbulent mind

another might help

*

feeling it again

this pain as old as the world

another love lost

*

 

illusion gives birth

to absent realities ~

your dark mystery

*

in silent shadows

I see your dark mystery ~

lonely afternoon

*

I fall into sleep

in dreams I lie by your side

morning comes too soon

*

the land between us

the sea which separates us

bridged only by dreams

*

the July rains fall

as I count weeks without you

a blue moon above

*

the summer rain falls

washing away foolish tears

autumn in my heart

*

the bench where we kissed

is covered in fallen leaves

autumn come again

*

what keeps me from sleep?

the sight of the waning moon

from my closed window

*

as the sun rises

spider webs catch morning mist ~

these diamond days

*

in the autumn wind

her hair dancing like seaweed

on the shores of home

*

 

like two flightless birds

bathed in hard light of morning

this joyless coupling

***

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

